Return of the Boss Award:

The Boss Award is an award given by the Rocky Horror Community for outstanding effort within the community.

Future Boss Award winners are nominated by the previous winners of the award. To nominate someone you think should have one contact one of the previous winners. You can contact me here

Prior winners include;
  • Ruth Fink-Winter April 1998 (awarded at NYC Con)
  • Bruce Cutter October 1998 (awarded at RockyCon '98 in Las Vegas)
  • Jim Hetzer April 1999 (awarded at Rocky Rocks the Rockies in Denver)
  • Bill Brennan October 1999 (awarded at Tucson Convention)
  • Stephanie Freeman October 1999 (awarded at Transylvania '99)
  • David Freeman October 1999 (awarded at Transylvania '99)
  • Larry Viezel March 2000 (awarded at East Coast 2000 Con in Allentown, PA)
  • Sal Piro October 2000 (awarded at the 25th Anniversary Con in Las Vegas)
  • Megan Tabor October 2000 (awarded at the 25th Anniversary Con in Las Vegas)
  • Shawn Stutler September 2008 (awarded at AC 08)
  • Kevin Boycik May 15th & 16th 2009 (awarded at The Celluloid Jam in KY)
  • Fester June, 4-6th, 2010 (awarded at TC in DC)
  • Bernie Bregman Sept. 23-26th, 2010 (awarded at Sins Con)
  • Mina Smith (awarded at AC11)
  • ?????????? (awarded at TCJ 2 in Kentucky)

    The Story of the Boss Award by Cosmo

    I was approached by Eric Bradshaw to present an award to Ruth at the NYC con for all she did proofing sites etc... I think Bruce Cutter printed the plaques up to 2000. I took over in 2008. (A sample of the current plaques is located here. Since this is an award for the whole community, I guess I should clarify a little. Currently, I print the plaques. They are funded by money from individual contributions from past winners. I designed the plaques. The original ones came with a paper 8x11 framed certificate.

    To be considered for a plaque you must be present that the con. The award will be presented (when possible) by the previous winner. In all cases but one, you will receive the award at the convention. You don't have to be well liked in the community to win. You just need the majority vote from the committee.

    Although it seems like it, throwing a con will not get you an award. It is a TOTAL coincidence that 3 of the last 5 have been awarded at their own con. Mina broke that trend. There are MANY people nominated. And then the list gets smaller and smaller. Fast. Sometimes people disagree. But it always works out. I (Cosmo) send all the emails regarding status etc... I've never had to break up a fight. When it comes to Rocky everyone of these previous winners are total professionals. And I will tell you... I am honored to email these people and discuss Rocky with them. And a nomination from them is a huge fucking honor. These people have 200+ years experience in Rocky. So who is ineligible? Hmm.. I would guess the only people not eligible are people that bring shame upon our community, people who steal from us, or people who print their own Boss Awards.

    Here are photos from the Rocky Horror 25th Anniversary when all of the Boss Award winners were together.

    I think these pictures are from jefF. Not 100% sure.

    Here is Ruth getting her award from Cosmo in New York City.

    Here is Bill Brennan getting his award from Cosmo in Tucson.

    Here is Kevin getting his award from the Boss Award Committee in Kentucky.

    If you have photos of any getting a Boss Award please contact me here